RSS

2015-01-11 Dreamwidth Fandom Snowflake Challenge – Day 11

11 Jan

Fandom Snowflake Challenge banner

Day 11

In your own space, post a rec for fannish and/or creative resources.

For fanfiction, I think one of my favourite resources is my paperback of Steve Vander Ark’s The Lexicon. It’s essentially the Harry Potter Lexicon in book form, but it is never farther away than I can stretch out my arm while I’m writing fanfiction. I also have all the books at arm’s distance at all times. When possible, I like to stay close to canon’s events, unless I’m doing something seriously AU. When I was writing Lay Me Low, I wanted it to weave both canon and au moments together (note to self: don’t ever do that again!), so I even purchased an extra copy of Half-Blood Prince so I could take it with me when I was brainstorming.

When I’m writing original fiction I like to collect a number of visual images to help me. I have scads of photos of everything from clothing choices to which kind of alcohol my characters prefer to the floorplans of their house.But by far, the most helpful thing I ever did was make all my major characters fill in a ‘meme’. I got the idea from JR Ward in her book The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider’s Guide. It was an exercise she did with all the Brothers, and I found it the perfect way to get inside my characters’ heads. This could be used for fanfic characters as well, of course.

Here is the actual meme. I had each character fill it in, and made them be as candid and honest as each were capable. I was amazed at what I discovered about my own characters this way.

Name:
Parents:
Siblings:
DOB:
Place of birth:
Age:
Height:
Weight:
Hair Colour:
Eye Colour:
Identifying physical marks:
Characteristic Habits:
Food of Choice:
Drink of choice:
Favourite Music:
Note: (Something you as a writer said about them)
Description: (Something you as the writer wrote to describe them, either physically, mentally, emotionally)
Married To:
Last Movie Watched:
Last Book Read:
Favourite TV Show:
Last TV Show Watched:
Last Game Played:
Greatest Fear:
Greatest Love:
Favourite Quote:
Boxers or Briefs:
Watch:
Handbag or wallet:
Car:
What Time is it while you’re filling this out:
Where are you:
What are you wearing:
What’s in your closet:
What’s the last thing you ate:
Describe your last dream:
Coke or Pepsi:
Bond – Connery or Craig:
Kirk or Picard:
Football or baseball:
Sexiest part of a male/female (depending on preference):
What do you like most about your other half:
First words he/she spoke to you were:
Your response was:
Last gift you gave to him/her:
The most romantic thing you ever did for him/her:
The most romantic thing he’s/she’s ever done for you:
Anything you’d change about him/her:
Best friend:
Last time you cried:
Last time you laughed:

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 11, 2015 in Random Fandom

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

