RSS

2015-01-07 Dreamwidth Fandom Snowflake Challenge – Day 07

07 Jan

Fandom Snowflake Challenge banner

Day 7

In your own space, share your love for a trope, cliché, kink, motif, or theme. (More than one is okay, too.) Tell us about it, tell us why you love it, give us some examples and recs.

Well, being an SSHG shipper, my fandom world is invariably AU. When I first started reading SSHG, a lot of writers took the angst level to infinity and beyond, and the dynamic between the two was so unpleasant that I could not suspend the disbelief that an intelligent woman like Hermione would put up with that kind of nastiness and still come back for more just because he had a killer voice and a mysterious air. Consequently, I could not write them this way, being cruel to one another for twenty chapters only to throw all that resentment aside and have wild passionate sex and live HEA in chapter twenty one. In other words, I don’t want a Snape so vile that no one can stand to be around him – after awhile, you just give up on him and look for another story. Yes, he has his hard side, but there has to be something appealing about him to keep her around.

And the same thing with Hermione. I was shocked with one review which said my Hermione was a ‘manic pixie dream girl’ (I’m actually so naive I had to look it up). I just couldn’t disagree with that person more – I think my Hermione is usually someone with a lot of compassion and intelligence, but also with insecurities and humour and mistakes. Smart but flawed.

I enjoy writing them best as a team, working toward a common goal. They may have initial tension between them, but inevitably I like them when they work together

I have a great love for Severus and Hermione working together as two mature adults, and I do like Severus to be a bit of a kinky fucker in his later life. My favourite tropes with him are his voice (being the voice slut that I am) and I do like a bit of hurt/comfort and sex (not necessarily at the same time) between the two. I have a shameful love of the mental image of a naked Hermione in the embrace of a fully-robed-up Snape, and a bit of safe, sane and consensual D/s action never goes amiss.

I guess the best examples of these kinds of tropes are found in these stories. Please note all of them are NC-17:

Father Figure
Up Against The Wall
The Witchhiker’s Guide to Beltane
The Sensual World
I Want That One
Every Day Is Saturday

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 7, 2015 in Random Fandom

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

