RSS

2011-05-03 Spelled To Life, Dialogue Only Challenge

23 Aug

Songs inspire me; I often quote from them in my stories, and this one sends shivers down my spine, and reminds me of Severus/Minerva. I love fun, playful MM/SS smut and enjoy this ship almost as much as my own Flagship, but I find my stories tend on the more sombre side with them. I always feel the twin heartache of friendship, loss and comradeship that I always felt between these two characters.

Name: Spelled To Life (Inspired by My Ain True Love, by Alison Krauss and Sting)
Length: 288 words
Category: Tragedy
Rating: R (for language)
Warning: Character Death

You’ll walk unscathed through musket fire, no ploughman’s blade will cut thee down, no cutless wound will mark thy face, and you will be my ain true love.
And as you walk through death’s dark veil, the cannon’s thunder can’t prevail, and those who hunt thee down will fail, and you will be my ain true love.
The field is cut and bleeds to red. The cannon balls fly round my head, the infirmary man may count me dead, when I’ve gone to find my ain true love.


“Severus, wake up!”

“It’s no use, Minvera.”

“Bullshit! More phoenix tears.”

“Minerva…”

“No! I can’t. I can’t stop trying. Please, for the love of Merlin, Severus, open your eyes!”

“He’s gone – “

“Shut up! Either help me or fuck off, Filius!”

“Here, pour these on the wound.”

“Ah, gods, there’s so much blood! Push my hair away.”

“What if he doesn’t want to come back, Minerva?”

“Don’t be stupid! He has come back! He has to…”

“Minerva, please…give the poor boy some dignity.”

“Damn dignity! Give me that bezoar, while you’re at it.”

“He’s gone, Minerva. Please, let him rest.”

“I placed charms! Protection, defense – I protected him!”

“Look at his wand, Minerva. He’s cancelled them. He knew this would happen. Stop doing that!”

“I don’t accept this. I can’t…”

“Minerva. Look at him, my dear. Look how peaceful. He’s not going to come back, Min. Please stop crying. He wouldn’t want you to.”

Oh, Severus, please wake up…”

“Let him go, Min. Let me take him back to the Infirmary.”

“Please, just one more…”

“No. Enough.”

“Severus, no….”

“Let him rest.”

“I can’t let him go yet. I didn’t tell him things – “

“He knows, Minerva. He always knew.”

 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2014 in Fanfiction Archive

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “2011-05-03 Spelled To Life, Dialogue Only Challenge

  1. Theresa Cullen

    December 23, 2015 at 5:02 pm

    Your writing is making me a believer in the MM/SS ship, for sure!

     
  2. Teddy Raye

    March 1, 2016 at 9:43 pm

    Thank you! Next to SSHG, this is one of my favourite Het pairings.

     
  3. EclecticBonVivant

    January 9, 2017 at 9:37 pm

    The more I read the more I love this pairing! Very well done. 🙂

     
    • Teddy Raye

      January 9, 2017 at 11:29 pm

      I’m a big fan of this pairing as well – thank you!

       

Leave a comment